Big wood beads / Ideas / turning beads

Practical Wood Ranger Beads help you remember to stay hydrated

Wood Ranger BeadsDrink water!

We’re supposed to drink eight 8 oz. glasses of water a day.  Afterall, the human body is made 80% water.  And, if we want to lose weight add in an extra 8 oz. of water for each pound we’d like to lose that week.  So if I want to lose one pound this week, that’s at least nine 8-oz. drinks a day.

Admittedly, it is hard to remember just how many drinks have been consumed.  One drinks by the container — not a tidy 8 oz. glass consumption.

  • One bottle of Zephyrhills water = 16.9 oz.
  • One grape Gatorade bottle = 20 oz.
  • One bottle of Lipton Diet Green Tea with honey ginseng =16.9 oz.
  • One can of La Croix Berry = 12 oz.

You get the idea.  There’s no 8 oz. packaging of my favorite drinks.

Solution:  Ranger beads!

My water/tea/gatorade beads are all different woods and unique shapes.   The beads are turned from remnants of some of my favorite woods — cherry, spalted maple, Southern magnolia, aromatic Eastern cedar, dogwood and mahogany.   Each drink, represented by a unique wood bead, gets moved to the other side of my turquoise suede strap.

My Ranger beads need to be obvious and out where I’ll see it or I’ll forget to count.  There are 8 beads total, so that if I drink more — bonus.  But at least a good solid 64 oz. a day.

I stumbled online on the concept of Ranger beads. You may enjoy reading the various articles describing how people use and make ranger beads.

From comments on an article on Ranger beads at Lifehacker:

“Ranger beads are great for counting other things as well. If you want to keep track of how much water (or coffee) you drink, hang some beads on the handle of your mug and move one whenever you fill it. Because they’re small, low-tech, and don’t make any sound, you can keep a small string in your pocket and use them very discretely. That makes them good for monitoring positive or negative behaviors you want to change, like how often you cuss, check your email during the day, or stand up to stretch.”

“I talked to some friends recently about using beads to monitor drinking. A friend had obviously had too many drinks, but also insisted that she’d only had five drinks all night, when we’re pretty sure she’d had twice that many. A little string of beads on your wallet would be an easy way to keep track of how many you have.”

From Brian Green’s Backpacking blog:

“Hydration Counter Variant: Instead of using Ranger Beads for land distance estimation, they also work great as a simple visual hydration counting system. Here’s how it works.  Every time I drink a whole bottle of water I move a bead. I aim to have moved all the beads by the end of the day or I know I haven’t been drinking enough water – which for me is usually around ten bottles on a long hot hike.”

In the comments of the Instructables article,

“I’ve made variants of these as a craft for my friends girl scout troop. Instead of using them for land nav, they also work great as a hydration counter. Everytime you drink your whole water bottle you move a bead. You need to move all the beads by the end of the day or you weren’t drinking enough water. I think we used 8 beads, might be wrong, I’d have  to find mine again. But it worked great for keeping the girls hydrated in the Oklahoma heat.”

If you use Ranger beads, I’d love to hear how.  Leave me a comment.

For now,

Water Ranger Judy

Leave a Reply

