Bead Soup Blog Party / Beaded Cabochons / Ideas / Seed Bead

Second Reveal: 7th Bead Soup Blog Party

April 13, 2013 — the day of the second reveal for the 7th  Bead Soup Blog party — has finally arrived.  Be sure to check out my partner Andra’s incredible piece she made.  Her blog, Andra’s Joyful Journey  has great photos of an absolutely stunning piece.  Breathtaking, I would say.

It’s been quite an intense learning time for me with all of the goodies that Andra sent me  from learning how to   bead embroider, use bell caps, bezel a cabochon and make a sunshine edge.  Here’s the original bead soup Andra sent me.

Bead Embroidered Fern Cabochon Necklace

Of the many things that Andra had sent me one was a fern cabochon on Lacie’s stiff stuff to use to hone my non-existent bead embroidery skills. You can see the original cabochon here. Since I’d been reading Jamie Eakin, Sherry Serafini and Heidi Kummli, I had several ideas on how to start with the cabochon.  But the really interesting thing happened when I stopped consulting the books and just took off with an idea.  Then I couldn’t set the piece down.  I had to keep going to see how it would all turn out.

Andra had sent such a plethora of natural colored beads I had lots to work with.  I added size 6 amber beads from my stash and some copper beads primarily because everything I saw and read in Sherry Serafini and Heidi Kummli’s beaded embroidery showed that those copper beads added much tonal depth.  Finally I finished the back with some soft suede I had left over from my Native American flute wraps.

Green Lace Agate Multi-strand Necklace

For the green agate cabochon (see naked stone), I used the 15 brown beads for a bezel with the idea that either side could be worn facing out.  I combined a pastel darker green with a pastel lighter greed 11 seed beads and beautiful silver-lined yellows for sparkling highlights.  As well, I added a few copper 11s.

But then I was stymied as to whether to put it on a chain, strands of seed beads or what.  Just recently, I saw an image on the cover of a book about multistrands and decided I wanted to try something very different for me.

The brown pearls interspersed with seed beads made for an intriguing offset multistrand.  Very different from anything I have made previously.

The Beady-Eyed Lizard: A Pin for Floridians

Two things came together to inspire me to create the Beady-eyed Lizard.

First, the weather has warmed right up in Florida to that overly hot time when you walk from your office to the car and you’re sweating.  The lizard population now runs the state and is basking on hot sidewalks.   It also means gift time.  My wee cat leaves lizard gifts on the front doormat.  After a day of work, there is a lizard, lovingly set out as a present.  There have been several gifts lately, and I have examined them closely as I moved them to the garden.  If this disgusts you, we have encouraged lizard chasing over bird and feather chasing.  Our adopted cat is exceptionally quick. She loves to play with squirrels, birds, lizards, skinks and we have tried to train her that squirrels and lizards are ok — to save the goldfinches, carolina wrens, house finches, and yellow-rumped warblers (whose ancestors were moved to the garden).

The second thing was that I had been working with two shades of green and the silver-lined yellow seed beads that Andra sent.  When mixed in my bead bowl the beads looked like one of the  lizard-gifts.  So intent on seeing how it would turn out, I nearly finished it in one evening.   With a suede backing, I think this is exactly what you need resting on your lapel in a meeting.  If you’ve ever read or leafed through the book “Read My Pins” (a hilarious account of messages sent through the various pins Madeleine Albright wore), you will appreciate “The Beady-Eyed Lizard” pin.  For its photo, it posed on a piece of pecky cypress.

The Beady-Eyed Lizard

The Beady-Eyed Lizard

Maple Tree Salute Necklace: A Casual Nod

Finally, with all of the delights that Andra had sent, I couldn’t resist trying something on my loom.  I needed a doable piece on the loom — nothing too large — and so I designed online using the Javascript Seed Bead Designer at Jagwear Jewelry a maple tree outline.   I combined this with a big wood bead of ambrosia maple I had turned the other day and Voilà — the maple tree salute.

big wood bead ambrosia maple tree salute

Maple Tree Salute

My imagination is still stirring the remaining beads simmering in my bead soup.  What will I cook up next?

Here are the other blogs involved in the Second Reveal

Agata Grygiel
Ali McCarthy
Alice Craddick
Amy Severino
Ana Krepel
Andra Weber
Andrea Glick
Andrea Trank
Anitra Gordy Boyers
 
 
 
Annette Rivers
Anu Tuppurainen
April Grinaway
Audrey Bélanger
B.R.Kuhlman
Barbara Bechtel
Barbara Mason
Becky Pancake
Beti Horvath
Billi RS Rothove
 
 
 
Bobbie Rafferty
Brandi Burdick
Candida Castleberry
Carol Dillman
Carolyn Gebert
Carolyn Lawson
Caron Reid
Catherine King
Cathy Jakicic
 
 
 
Chandra Merod
Charlene Jacka
Cheri Reed
Cherrie Fick
Cherrie Warzocha
Cheryl Brown
Cheryl Dunham
Cheryl Foiles
Cheryl Gangle
 
 
 
Chris Eisenberg
Chris White
Christina Miles
Christine Hansen
Christine Murrow
Christine Stonefield
Cindy Ritchie
Clare Etheridge
Cory Tompkins
 
 
 
Cris Peacock
Cynthia Abner
Debbie Rasmussen
Debi Levine
Deborah Brooks
Deborah Read
Debra Behrends
Dorota Żerańska
Elaine Robitaille
 
 
 
Elsie Deliz-Fonseca
Emma Todd
Erin Guest
Evelyn Shelby
Evie and Beth McCord
Francy Inman
Ginger Bishop
Gloria Allen
Hajer Waheed
 
 
 
Hope Smitherman
Ilenia Ruzza
Ilona Hegedűs
Ine Vande Cappelle
Jackie Ryan
Janine Lucas
Jean Peter
Jean Wells
Jeanne Steck
 
 
 
Jelveh Jaferian Johnson
Jennifer Cabic
Jennifer Reno
Jennifer VanBenschoten
Jenny Davies-Reazor
Jenny Kyrlach
Jenny Robledo
Jessica Brower
Jill MacKay
 
 
 
JJ Jacobs
Jo-Ann Woolverton
Joanne Tinley
Johanna Rhodes Nash
Judy Robinson
Juli Cannon
Julia Gerlach
Julie Bowen
Julie Panusis
 
 
 
K Hutchinson
Karen Martinez
Karen Vincent
Karen Williams
Karin Slaton
Karyn Bonfiglio
Kat Douglas
Kate Dufour
Kate Mulligan
 
 
 
Kate Richbourg
Kathleen Gallant
Kathleen Lange Klik
Katie Nielsen-Nunez
Kay Bolton
Kayla Potega
Kelli Jacobson
Kelly Patterson
Kelly Ramstack
 
 
 
Kiersten Kern
Kim Sparks
Klaudete Koon
Klaudia Tóth
Krista French
Kristin Oppold
Kym Hunter
Lana Kinney
Laura Guenther
 
 
 
Lauren Fenty
Leah Curtis
Lennis Carrier
Linda Murphy
Lisa Johnson
Lori Anderson
Lupe Meter
Lynn Jobber
Mandi Effron
 
 
 
Marcia Dunne
Margareta Saari
Marianne Baxter
Marie Covert
Mary Ellen Parker
Maryse Fritzsch-Thillens
Megan Milliken
Melissa Meman
Melissa Mesara
 
 
 
Michaela Pabeschitz
Michelle Tucker
Mimi Gardner
Mischelle Fanucchi
Monica Phillips
Mowse Doyle
Nancy Boylan
Nancy Dale
Pat Haight
 
 
 
Patina Queen
Patty Miller
Pia Kaven
Rebecca Anderson
Rose Johnson
Roxanne Blanc
Sarah Goode
Sarah Singer
Sarah Strover
 
 
 
Shalini Austin
Sherri Stokey
Sherry Baun
Sheryl Stephens
Silvia Sernicola
Solange Collin
Stacie Florer
Stacy Alderson
Stephanie Haussler
 
 
 
Stephanie LaRosa
Sue Burleigh
Susan Bowie
Susan Kelly
Susan of Libellula Jewelry
Susan Sheehan
Suzanne Fragiacomo
Tammi Sloan
Tammie Everly
 
 
 
Tania Hagen
Tania Spivey
Tanya Goodwin
Tanya Wiles
Tari Kahrs
Terry Carter
Theresa Buchle
Tiffany Smith
Tina Holden
 
 
 
Tracey Nanstad
Tracie Dean
Tracy Bell
Tracy Kruse
Veralynne Malone
Veronica Campos-Hallstrom

28 thoughts on “Second Reveal: 7th Bead Soup Blog Party

  1. What a beautiful focal piece! I truly admire anyone who can work with those tiny beads and create such a lovely creation! Thank you for sharing your talents with us!
    Cheryl

  2. Judy, Your jewelry is stunning! I love the pin and can imagine him sitting on your shoulder while you create your flutes or beads! Your design for the cab is fantastic. You are right the beads tell us where to go. It seems that once an idea gets started I can’t put it down either. I love LOVE the wooden bead. You are so talented!
    Thank you for my soup. I have had a lot of fun creating with it and still have more to create.

  3. I really enjoyed seeing your work. The first reminds me of a fairy door. I love the multistrand. There are so many parts of it I admire. The lizard is really cute and the tree focal is great. Excellent work.

  4. Your designs are as refreshing as your writing! So glad to find your blog — one of the nice things about the BSBP. I am off to order the Madeleine Albright book, sounds like a fun read!

  5. I do love your first necklace. I especially like that you gave the sides some simple beads as to not detract from the focal. I don’t bead weave much but I appreciate the work that goes in and I like the simplicity that you added to it. Less is more sometimes and this is perfection. Kristin Oppold

  6. I love all your pieces, the lizard is too cute 🙂
    you are very talented, I think bead embroidery is very difficult!
    I’m on the 3rd reveal, what fun BSBP!
    ciao dall’Italia

  7. ~day three of hopping and once more i am left in awe…your pieces each so unique and beautiful…adore the fern necklace…wonderful job creating…much love light and blessings~

  8. Such lovely pieces – each so different, but you can tell they were created by the same person. The lizard is very cute (much cuter than anything the cat brings!)

Leave a Reply

