Ideas

Sarah creates a great “Winter Woods Necklace” as she describes in her post linked below. The bird with the branch is great. Real birch that size would be fairly light. I wonder what the other version of the necklace looked like? Note to self: find some little bird beads!

anordinarymiracleday

This adventure started around Thanksgiving, when one of the blogs I read had a feature by Heather Powers, of HumbleBeads, who designs beautiful polymer clay beads and pendants.  She showed off some of her new beads and offered a tantalizing discount.  I had seen these awesome birch branch beads and longed to make a necklace with the beauty.  I put in an order and soon I was staring at each lovely work of art in person – I ordered the logs, a fox, lots of leaves, mushroom bangles and some rondelles.  I had originally designed an asymmetrical lariat necklace with 2 leaves dangling from the necklace and the birch branch further up towards the neck.  I had also bought a strand of labradorite beads which were a nice hue of grey/blue and individually wired them into a chain to use with the branch and silvered leaves.  After an hour…

View original post 121 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. Hi JR! Thanks so much for mentioning my necklace in your blog! I should have done a before and after shot. The original design had the leaves dangling off a silver ring at the center of the design, and then the bird and branch were linked to the circle with a short piece of chain so that the branch hung further up on the neck. The beaded chain made up the other half of the necklace. Unfortunately, the clay branch was too heavy and pulled to the side, causing the necklace to rotate -not a good thing. So I centered the branch at the base of the necklace. Using real birch would be a beautiful idea. I found the bird beads at Joann’s.

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

